Aleppo-NGO: Displaced and Vulnerable Students Receive Scholarships

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest”

Benjamin Franklin

We are pleased to announce that the results of the scholarship competition for the 2020-2021 academic year spring semester have been summarized. Believing that young people are the guarantee of our future and that we can build developed and innovative Armenia by supporting youth, “ALEPPO” NGO and the WCC Round Table Foundation decided to provide scholarships to 110 students with big potential studying at the Armenian universities. Scholarship holders have already received their tuition reimbursements.

366 students had applied for scholarships, 300 out of which for the reimbursement of spring semester tuition fees and 66, for the autumn semester, respectively.

According to the defined process, discussion and selection of applications took place by the Selection Committee of the 2020/2021 academic year scholarships, which consisted of the ”ALEPPO” NGO and the WCC Armenia Round Table Foundation representatives and one independent student representative.

As a result of several meetings, a decision was made to provide partial scholarships to all (34) Artsakh students studying at Armenian universities who had applied to the program. In the case of local and Middle Eastern students, it was decided to prioritize applicants who met several criteria at the same time (high progress in education, vulnerability, work along studies, activism) and had received approvals of at least 4 out of the 5 committee members. The completeness of the application, the accurate submission of all required documents and motivation letters were also taken into account.

The scholarship holders are citizens of the Republic of Armenia, including Artsakh, Syria, Iran, Lebanon, and represent the following educational institutions: European University in Armenia, National University of Architecture and Construction of Armenia, National Polytechnic University of Armenia, Yerevan State University,, Yerevan State Medical University, Armenian State University of Economics, Armenian State Pedagogical University named after Khachatur Abovian, Goris State University, Yerevan Brusov State University of Languages and Social Sciences, Yerevan State Institute of Theatre and Cinematography, Yerevan State Academy of Fine Arts.

We would like to sincerely congratulate all scholarship holders, and we hope that this will motivate them to make even greater progress in their education, reaching new heights and achieving high results.

The “Bright Future for Youth” program was launched on February 1, 2020 aiming to develop the abilities and skills of Syrian-Armenians, Iraqi-Armenians and other refugees, as well as local vulnerable young people through courses, trainings, student scholarships and professional internships.